Jakarta (ANTARA) – The Indonesian Ministry of Maritime Affairs and Fisheries ensures sustainable management of the Arafura and Timor Sea (ATS) through the Arafura and Timor Seas Ecosystem Action Phase II (ATSEA-2) program.

The ATSEA-2 program was initiated by four coastal countries — Australia, Indonesia, Papua New Guinea, and Timor-Leste — since 2019 to support marine and fisheries governance in these waters.

“We appreciate the achievements of the ATSEA-2 project. Its activities are in line with Indonesia’s policy that prioritizes ecology to manage marine and fisheries resources,” the ministry’s secretary general, Antam Novambar, stated at the 5th Regional Steering Committee Meeting of the ATSEA-2 Project in Jakarta on Tuesday.

According to Novambar, the five blue economy priority policies that have been highlighted are expanding marine conservation areas; quota-based measurable fishing; development of sustainable marine, coastal, and land cultivation; policies for monitoring and controlling coastal areas and small islands; and policies for handling marine plastic debris through fishermen’s participation movements.

Continue reading on Antara News